Linzer Cookies

Leave a comment

March 10, 2013 by another1bitesthecrust

I fell wayyy behind this year on Valentine’s treats. Not only did I miss the date entirely but I only made one thing…and to add insult to injury, I thought I could make them heart shaped when lo and behold, it turns out I don’t have heart-shaped cookie cutters. That’s just unacceptable.

I wanted to make something I’d never made before and I honestly couldn’t tell you how the idea came to me but I decided to make linzer cookies. (Or as my dad so appropriately calls them – jammy tarts).

At first I thought they were just sugar cookie dough but it turns out there are dough recipes specific to these cookies. Since my favorite jam is raspberry, I opted for a recipe that had almonds in it. Raspberry and almond are just so delicious together.

Here are the ingredients you will need:

1½ Cups Finely Ground Almonds (I used almond meal)
1½ Cups Flour
1½ Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
¼ Teaspoon Salt
¼ Teaspoon Ground Cloves (I opted out of the cloves, I’m not a fan of them)
1 Large Egg + 2 Teaspoons Water
½ Cup Unsalted, Room Temperature Butter
½ Cup Sugar
½ Cup Raspberry + 1 Teaspoon Water
Powdered sugar

In a small bowl, combine all the dry ingredients. In another small bowl, whisk together the egg and 2 TB of water. Using an electric stand mixer, beat the sugar and butter until it’s light and fluffy. Remember to scrape down the sides as you go so that all the butter and sugar gets mixed together.

Add in the egg on a low speed setting, followed by the dry ingredients, until just combined. Again, scrape the sides of the bowl to make sure all the ingredients are properly combined. Divide the dough into halves and roll out between two pieces of wax or parchment paper to about 1/4″ thick.

Linzer Cookie Dough

Refrigerate the disks for at least 2 hours. When they’re chilled, remove the top layer of wax paper and let the fun begin! You actually won’t even need flour for your cookie cutter with this recipe but it doesn’t hurt if you feel like you want it. 

I wanted the kind of cookie where you can see the jam through a little cutout in the middle of the top layer, so I selected one large and one small scalloped/flower shape cookie cutter.

Linzer Cookie Cutters

Using the large cookie cutter, begin cutting out the cookies. Cut as many as you can then re-roll the scraps to cut some more. 

Linzer Cookie Cutouts
Take half the cookies and, using the small cookie cutter, cut out a hole in the middle of the cookie. These form the top layer of the sandwich.

Linzer Cookie Top Layer

With the oven pre-heated to 375, bake the cookies a few inches apart from each other on a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet for about 12 minutes.

My Spatula's Smiling!

In the meantime, take the jam and the water and stir them together in a small saucepan over low heat. Once it comes to a soft boil, the kind where you can see it forming small bubbles around the outer edge, remove it from the heat. 

Linzer Cookie Filling

Once the cookies have all been cooled on a wire rack, you can begin assembling them! Lay out the top layers, the ones with the cut out, on the cookie tray or just on a piece of parchment paper and sprinkle them with powdered sugar.

Linzer Cookie Powdered Sugar

I have a fabulous shaker that has a domed mesh lid with a handle that I use to dust powdered sugar. I think I got it from a “Pampered Chef” party years ago. Best ever!

Powdered Sugar Duster

Then take a teaspoon or knife and scoop up about half a teaspoon of jam, and spread it over the bottom layer cookie (the one without the hole). Gently lay the top layer on top, and be sure to line up the edges to keep the cut-out shape consistent for the whole cookie. 

Linzer Cookie Bottom Layer with Filling

 

Linzer Cookies

They’ll have to set a bit, the jam will firm up a little bit so it’s not quite as sticky and oozy. With the slightly darker cookie color, the red jam and the powdered sugar, these make such an elegant cookie, great for a cookie exchange, the holidays, a hostess gift. You can even make these with any flavor jam or even Nutella! 

Leave a Reply

